International Biometric Society - British and Irish Region

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2008

Wednesday 26th November 2008, Rothschild Lecture Theatre, Imperial College London, 1.30pm

Chair: Regional president, David Balding

Approximately 25 members present

Apologies: Suzanne Clark, David Clayton, Ruth King, Andrew Mead, Alistair Murray, Peter Rigsby, Robin Thompson, Angela Wood

- 1. Minutes of 2007 AGM were agreed.
- 2. Matters arising: none
- 3. Secretary's Report

James Carpenter (regional secretary) gave a brief summary of his written report; the full version of which appeared in the December newsletter.

There were no questions.

4. Treasurer's Report.

James presented a summary of the regional treasurer's written report, full details of which are on the regional website. James thanked thanking the Fisher Memorial Trust for their continued support.

There were no questions, and Peter thanked for his work as Treasurer.

Robin Thompson has audited and approved the accounts.

5. Membership Secretary's Report

James presented a summary of Suzanne's report.

There were no questions and Suzanne was thanked for her work as membership secretary over the last 7 years.

6. Website report

James and Peter Colman reported on the revamped regional website, and plans for the future.

James, Peter and Robin Thompson are working to design a new specification for the website, which we will have implemented commercially.

7. Subscriptions

David Balding moved that, in the light of our surplus, we could reduce the membership fee by $\pounds 5$ to $\pounds 40$ a year for full members (other rates remaining unchanged).

His proposal was chanlenged on the grounds that such a small reduction would have little effect in recruiting and retaining members, and simply reduce reserves (the expected reduction was about $\pounds 1000$).

After discussion, the motion to reduce full membership rates by $\pounds 5$, leaving other rates unchanged, was put to the vote and passed.

8. Election of Officers and Committee

No other nominations received, so the following were elected: Diana Cole (membership secretary; executive position) Adele Marshall and John Whittaker to serve on the regional committee for 3 years.

9. Election of Auditor

Robin was thanked for his work as auditor in 2008.

He was willing to stand again and was appointed unanimously

10. Welcome to incoming regional president

David Balding welcomed Byron Morgan as the incoming regional president.

11. AOB

James warmly thanked David Balding for his work as regional president.